IMAGE: India’s Yashasvi Jaiswal presents with the player of the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup award. Photo: © ICC Service Corporation FZ LLC 2018

The respected Yashasvi Jaiswal and highest wicket-taker Ravi Bishnoi were amongst 3 Indians named in the ICC Under-19 World Cup Team of the Competition on Monday.

Left-handed opener Jaiswal and leg-spinner Bishnoi, right-arm pacer Kartik Tyagi is the other Indian to figure in the 12-member group, led by World Cup-winning Bangladesh skipper Akbar Ali.

Jaiswal claimed the Gamer of the Competition award, having played a crucial function in assisting India to the final.

With 400 runs to his name in 6 innings, at an astonishing average of 133, he topped the scoring chart easily, ending up 114 runs ahead of closest competitor Ravindu Rasantha of Sri Lanka.Bishnoi topped

the wicket-taking chart by claiming 17 in 6 matches with a parsimonious average of 10.64, while Tyagi terrorised opposing batsmen throughout the tournament with his swing and scalped 11 wickets, at an average of 13.90.

India, nevertheless, could not safeguard their title as Bangladesh claimed their very first ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup title with a three-wicket triumph under the Duckworth/Lewis approach in the rain-affected last in Potchefstroom on Sunday.

The main group of the tournament has representatives from 6 groups, including Afghanistan opener Ibrahim Zadran and the West Indies’ Nyeem Young.

In Akbar, Shahdat Hossain and Mahmudul Hasan Pleasure, Bangladesh likewise has 3 representations in the team, while Afghanistan and West Indies have 2 players each.

Canada’s Akil Kumar was consisted of as the 12th guy.

The group was chosen by an adjudication panel of 5, that included analysts Ian Bishop, Rohan Gavaskar and Natalie Germanos joined by ESPN Cricinfo reporter Sreshth Shah and ICC representative Mary Godbeer.

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup group of the tournament (in batting order):

Ibrahim Zadran– Afghanistan

Ravindu Rasantha– Sri Lanka

Shahadat Hossain– Bangladesh

Nyeem Young– West Indies

Akbar Ali– Bangladesh (WK, Captain)

Shafiqullah Ghafari– Afghanistan

Kartik Tyagi– India

Jayden Seales– West Indies

This content was originally published here.